I have a cleaner…

My cleaner is a life saver…

I have a cleaner. There, my “secret” is out. I’ve had one now for about 4 years now, and it started as a sanity saver between myself and my mother (I live with my parents).

Our cleaner comes in on a Friday morning and does whatever she can for 2 hours, including cleaning the bathroom & toilet, and vacuuming and mopping the floors.

Before we got her, I thought that having a cleaner was a luxury that I couldn’t possibly afford. I struggled with the housework. I didn’t like doing it and, with two small children and post natal depression, things got more and more out of control.

It’s funny talking with some of the Mums from school. Many are working (some full time) and are still trying to get all their housework done. When I tell them I have a cleaner, they say how lucky I am and how they could never afford it.

For me, having a cleaner is no longer a luxury, or something I feel guilty about. It’s fantastic as I know things get cleaned. Sometimes things get dirty in between times, such as the bathroom mirror, and I will clean them, but it’s great not having to worry. We just do a mad dash around the house on a Thursday to tidy up, ready for the cleaner on Friday morning. Then, when we get home in the afternoon, the house is lovely and clean – a great way to start the weekend.

My kids still help with housework, while they grumble, they are still learning to keep the house clean and tidy, so they don’t get out doing any housework just because we have a cleaner.

So, if housework is getting on top of you, or you just don’t feel like doing it, invest in a cleaner. You’ll find it’s a great investment, and it gives you energy to do the things you really love doing.

If you are looking for a cleaner, I came across this site the other day – Find Me a Cleaner – they might be able to help you find a cleaner in your area.

3 thoughts on “I have a cleaner…

  1. I have just gone back to having a cleaner too. I had one at the end of my pregnany and first few weeks with Baby T. But my time with my family is worth more to me than the expense of paying for my 2 hours each week. They wip through it so much fast than I would too. Now that I am back working, it’s essential as far as I am concerned and one of the best pieces of advice a few other mums gave me.

Leave a Reply

