Writing a book, or two!

Writing a book - in a cafe!

I’ve always wanted to write a book. When I was in High School I did a lot of writing, and even won some awards for my short stories, and had a couple of short plays produced. But in more recent times, my writing has been mostly for business.

Recently, I have started writing again. I have a pile of short stories as well as at least 2 books that are in the process of being written. I’m loving writing again, just for the sake of writing.

One of my favourite places to write is in my brother’s cafe. I take my laptop and set up for the day. I make sure I have money for lunch and numerous cups of tea or chai or juice and they are happy for me to site there.

Now, I have no idea when these books will be published, or even if they will. But for now, I’m just enjoying writing again. I’m even giving myself permission to write just for the pure enjoyment of it, instead of feeling guilty for writing, especially when I spend a whole day in the cafe!!

Just wait, one day you may be able to say “I knew her when…”

6 thoughts on “Writing a book, or two!

  1. I like that phrase “giving yourself permission” I do that if I’m doing something for me, without my kids. On Friday’s I have a standing appointment, this week it was canceled but I didn’t cancel Grandma baby-sitting, I took two hours to myself, had a massage & an iced chocolate & some retail therapy but before I did I gave myself permission to enjoy without the guilt!!

  2. Love the fact you are pulling out your writing. I have two books that keep getting added to over the years. One encounter with The Publishing Queen – the lovely Kylee, taught me how to organise my ideas, took me through the proccess of publishing a book and all the little things – but really important things – I had missed out on.
    I now have a completely different attitude when I put pen to paper. It’s not so much IF my jottings will be published and shared – but WHEN!
    I look forward to reading more of your posts.
    All the best, Marina.

    • Thanks for your comments Marina. I do hope the books will get published, for right now, I just want to write – for the fun of it – rather than thinking “I need to get this done by such and such a date to be published”.

  3. I wish I could do that 😦 having three little girls with only one in school is a time filler (not that I mind) most nights I even share the shower with them :/ I think I need to make one day a month a mummy day can’t remember the last one of those I had must of been before my eldest was born 5 years ago sad huh lol.

    • Thankfully both my kids are in school, though I’m working part time now, finding a day to write hasn’t been easy, and only be done once, other times were a few hours here & there. Don’t worry, the time will come πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

