It’s OK for it to be just a hobby

Its OK for it to be just a hobby

For the last nearly 9 years, I’ve been a WAHM. It’s been so many different things – fun, challenging, successful, not successful, stressful, a learning experience, and so much more. Over the last few years, I put so much pressure on myself to make money to make ends meet. As a result of this, everything suffered – my business, my health, my relationship with my boys, clients, everyone.

Recently I’ve realised that it’s OK for it to be “Just a Hobby”.

A few months ago, I returned to the workforce part time, and I’ve been enjoying having a paycheque to look forward to each fortnight. It’s not a fortune by any means, but it’s paying the bills. On the days I’m not working, I’m very, very tired. It’s been a shock to the system returning to work.

I don’t want to let go of the WAHM title completely. I still like being there for my boys and the flexibility it gives me, but for now I’m working part time.

I make jewellery as a hobby, as well as make cards with my Mum. Next month there is a market day at my son’s school and the boys are pushing me to have a stand to sell some of my creations. My boss was asking if I sell my jewellery online anywhere (which I don’t). I have had people suggest I turn my jewellery making in to a business, but I like it being a hobby. The aim of selling my creations at the market would be to bring in a bit of pocket money, rather than start a jewellery making business.

So, for all you WAHMs who want your hobby to remain a hobby, it’s OK. And for all of you running a business, that’s OK too. And, if you want to do neither, that’s OK too.

Whatever you decide, realise it’s OK. It’s your choice. There is no one size fits all solution to working, running a business or staying at home. You need to do what’s right for you and your family.

For me, I am enjoying working and writing, and spending some quality time with my boys.

Leave a Reply

