Hands Off our Lunchbox

Hands off our lunch boxes!

School is back today in Victoria, and that means packing school lunches.

I am tired of people telling me what I should put in the boys lunchboxes. When the kids were in prep, there was an information session at the school where a nutritionist gave a talk on healthy school lunches. I spoke with her at the end of the session to let her know the cheese sandwich on wholemeal bread and orange she was recommending would make one of my children sick – he can’t have wheat/gluten, dairy or citrus!

Having a child with food issues is a challenge, but my other son is also a challenge. He doesn’t eat sandwiches, and a lot of the stuff he will eat at lunchtime goes brown in lunch boxes or will be cold by lunch time!

So, the boys lunch boxes often resemble a snack box instead. There is a nude food policy at the school – which also has its challenges. My 9 year old loves wraps, however we have to use cling wrap to hold them together!

I know my kids have a healthy breakfast and dinner, so I’m not too fussed if their lunches look more like a whole lot of healthy snacks instead of the traditional sandwich and fruit (yes, they still have fruit in their boxes). I prefer they eat what I put in their boxes instead of throwing food out after a few days.

Please, hands off our lunch boxes. I’m getting tired of being told what to put in the boys lunch boxes, then feeling bad because I’m not serving hand rolled sushi (mind you, the boys would LOVE sushi in their lunch box!) or some other gourmet treat.

The other issue I have with those is there’s no¬†refrigeration at the school for lunches – but that’s a post for another day.

2 thoughts on “Hands Off our Lunchbox

  1. you siad it, sister! my chirrens eat fantastically at home, and usually such big breakfasts that they just don’t want ‘big food’ during the day…. if i was shipping them off with canned sodas every day that would be different.

    and while we’re at it, why can the school tuckshop sell them chicken nuggets and crips, but i’m NOT supposed to give them that even occasionally??!!

    xoxo

  2. If you ever need a great lunch menu idea, check out: http://www.laptoplunches.com/bento-menus/. This site has a full library of lunch menus. You might also want to check out their products which would enable them to have completely waste free lunches that will stay nice and cool throughout the day with one of their insulated bags or sleeves.

Leave a Reply

