Cake stall cop out?

No time to bake...

This weekend, my kids school is having their annual festival. It’s organised really well. Over the last couple of months, we’ve been asked to bring in various things like a bottle of soft drink, a block of chocolate, and, the latest, bake a cake for the cake stall.

I had the best of intentions when the plate and instructions came home. I was planning to make a gluten free coconut loaf. This is yummy and easy to make. It really doesn’t take too long…

However, life got in the way. I’ve been working a lot this week and after school has also been busy – and cold and wet. So, no baking happened this week.

What is a busy Mum to do? I could go out and buy something, but even that took too much time this week. Instead, I put an envelope with $10 in it on the plate, along with a note that said: “I didn’t have time to do any baking. Here is a donation instead”, and signed it with our family name. I handed the plate with the envelope and money to my 7 year old to hand in.

My logic – at least the school benefits with the donation!

So, was this a cop out, or was it a good plan?

PS, ask my kids, I’ve done this before…. quite regularly in fact!

Leave a Reply

