Close the blinds

Shut the blinds, keep the warm air in

It’s been a while since I’ve blogged here. I apologise, I’ve been working as well as getting a couple of new projects under way.

It’s also been freezing here in Melbourne.

We live in a double storey house with central heating, and have an open fire downstairs. On the surface, there’s nothing wrong with this, however in practice, when the fire is lit, it’s FREEZING upstairs. This is because the thermostat is in the lounge – the same room as the fire!

It’s not unusual for me to be shivering upstairs while my parents are toasty warm downstairs.

One of the easiest ways I’ve found to keep things warm upstairs is to make sure all the blinds are closed. It’s amazing what a difference this makes to the general temperature, especially if the heater has been on during the day. Such a small thing keeps the warm air in so it doesn’t cool down quite as fast upstairs.

I’m still often found curled up under my TV blanket on the laptop or in bed under my lovely warm doona watching a DVD.

How do you keep warm in Winter? Remember to keep the blinds closed and the warm air in – it can also help to reduce your heating costs!

2 thoughts on “Close the blinds

  1. I try to do that but when the sun hits the Windows I open up & let that warmth in. I have one blind we keep partly up so the puppy can see in & you really feel the cold. We also keep the bathroom & laundry doors closed. Extra layers & singlets for all.

Leave a Reply

