Supermarket Shopping!

OK, so everything was packed away before I got out the camera!

I used to do my supermarket shopping online regularly. I really don’t know why I stopped. Probably because I got in the habit of dropping the boys at school and heading to the supermarket.

In February, I started working a few days a week. One of the days happens to be pay day – the day I would usually go shopping.  For the past few months, I’ve either headed to the supermarket after school, with boys in tow, or we’ve just done tiny shopping for essentials we’ve run out of.

Neither option is ideal. Both options result in spending more money that I really wanted, or had budgeted for.

Now I am working at least 4 days a week, and getting to the supermarket is getting harder. So, on Tuesday, in my lunchbreak at work, I logged on to Coles Online to place my order.

Now, I didn’t have my shopping list handy, and I’m sure I missed some things. One tool I found helped a lot is their “master list” feature, a list of everything I’ve bought in the past. I was able to choose from that list and it was a great starting point.

I had some issues at checkout, but I jumped on the phone and one of their operators was able to finish it all up for me. I chose a delivery time between 4 and 7pm, a time we are normally home anyway, especially as the boys need to finish their homework and they go to bed between 7 and 7.30pm.

Well, the delivery arrived around 4.45pm and the boys were really excited, putting the shopping away for me and jumping on the fruit & veggie box (the apples have already been eaten!). The delivery man even carried everything upstairs for us. This is something new. Last time the delivery guy just put things inside the front door for me to carry upstairs.

So, this was very easy and has saved so much time & energy. I’m now going to insist the boys put things on the shopping list as I won’t have aisles to walk down to remind me that something had run out, and I plan to do this more often. Even the price of the delivery was a saving against all the impulse purchases that usually end up in the trolley, or the petrol going to the supermarket, not to mention the convenience of not having to go to the supermarket in the first place.

I still need to go to the bakery to get the rolls Mr Z likes in his lunch, but that’s a very easy trip.

 

Note: this is not a sponsored post, however if Coles ever wants me to write one… lol

4 thoughts on “Supermarket Shopping!

  1. Welcome back! We are glad to have you back on board and happy to help you each week with your supermarket shopping. We have Guest bloggers post on our Coles online blog – see http://blog.colesonline.com.au/ . Send me an email to merryn.brien@coles.com.au to let me know what you’d like to blog about and we can chat through. Thanks for the lovely review. Happy shopping. Thanks Merryn (Marketing Manager – Coles Online)

  2. I love love love online shopping! I do mine with Coles too, quite often. I didn’t used to do it much, but now – with a toddler, and also being 26 weeks pregnant – I find it SOOOOOO much easier than walking to the shops, dragging Elspeth away from the toys, dealing with her tantrum, making sure she doesn’t chew on any of the fresh produce, all that guff, then walking home again… Ugh. Delivery, please!! 🙂

  3. @Merryn, thank you for stopping by – I’ll send you an email during the week when I get a spare minute.
    @Stace, I agree, it’s much better than dragging kids to the shops – though the boys do like the DIY check outs (there’s another blog post there!)

  4. Pingback: Our shopping list | Down With Super Mum

Leave a Reply

