I went to the ballet last night

I went to the ballet for the first time

I got a phone call just after 6pm last night from my sister. She had been given some tickets to the ballet and wanted to know if I wanted to go.

Being a single Mum with 2 small boys, I don’t get out much. Thankfully I live with my parents, and they were home, and were able to babysit at VERY short notice. So I quickly put my shoes on & jumped in the car. (Somehow, I didn’t think that fluffy purple slippers would go down too well at the Arts Centre!)

Growing up, I had been to a number of different cultural activities, including opera, musicals, symphony and many other activities. The only ballet I had seen live were snippets at the free concerts in the Sidney Myer Music Bowl. I had seen some on TV, but not enough to get me really excited (a bit like watching AFL, but that’s another blog post).

So, my sister & I went to see The Merry Widow performed by The Australian Ballet. It was amazing! When we went in, we were given an A4 piece of paper with the story on it, so we could follow on – this was a huge help. Sitting waiting for it to start, I read the synopsis and wondered how they would show things, such as not having money to pay bills.

It’s amazing how expressive the dancers were – showing everything from love to cheekiness to rejection to just about any other emotion you can think of! I especially loved how they did the flash back, complete with smoke on the floor.

The costumes were stunning and the sets… what can I say but WOW! They were stunning. The music was also beautiful (even though in solo’s my sister would nudge me and tell me the name of the soloist – friends of hers!).

I was home by 10.30pm (the performance started at 7.30), so it wasn’t a late night either.

Going to the ballet is definitely something I’d like to do again. It was fantastic and something I’m not likely to forget in a hurry.

2 thoughts on “I went to the ballet last night

  1. Jealous muchly!! Must have been beautiful. Hey I just read your ‘about me’page. I have a photo of myself (with my mummy) standing in the same spot (i think). Small world!! Hope you get to go back to the Ballet again soon.

Leave a Reply

