Different things work for different people

No "one size fits all" solution

My Mum loved her slow cooker. She recently told me that when my siblings and I were little, she used it a lot and found that if she had dinner organised in the morning, her day went better.

For me, I found that if I had to worry about dinner in the morning, it would stress me out even more. I preferred (and still prefer) to make dinner in the evening.

This just illustrates the point. Different things work for different people. There is no “one size fits all” way to parent, do dinner, housework, or whatever.

Just as different people have different strengths and weaknesses, we all have our own way of doing things and our own way of coping.

My tip for today with regard to losing the cape is this: find your own way of doing things, and the way that works for YOU and your family.

With regard to making dinner at night, there is no right or wrong time to cook dinner so it’s ready on the table at night. Some Mums may find that cooking dinner in the morning in a slow cooker or cooking it ready to heat up works best. Others may find that cooking it just before dinner works best. Really, it doesn’t matter which way you do it, so long as it works for you.

Leave a Reply

