Depression – being strong too long?

Depression - not just being strong too long

There is a quote that I’ve seen on Facebook quite a bit about depression. It goes something like this:

“Depression is not a sign of weakness, it is just a sign that we have been strong for too long.”

Now, part of me agrees with this, the other part doesn’t. (I don’t know who started this quote, if you know, please tell me.)

I don’t think it’s that simple. As someone who has been diagnosed twice with Post Natal Depression (PND) and Ante Natal Depression AND) once, I really don’t think it’s that simple. After all, if it was that simple, then medication wouldn’t be needed, just to admit that you need help and accept it.

Unfortunately, dealing with depression is not that simple. There are so many things that people to do get better, and for some, depression is a chronic state that is with them for life. For some, they need medication, others need counselling, others need practical help around the home or a break from the kids. But for most women I have spoken to, it’s a mixture of all these, and sometimes more.

Treating depression is not a “one size fits all” quick fix, unfortunately. What worked for me may not work for you. And so saying that depression is simply that you’ve been strong too long is putting things way to simply, in my mind. There are times when this is the case, but there are other factors involved as well.

I’m just rambling on this, but I don’t know if I’m making sense. I’ve been musing about this for a while and I’m not sure I’ve got my thoughts out as well as I wanted. So, if this doesn’t make sense, I apologise.

 

2 thoughts on “Depression – being strong too long?

  1. I have two, seemingly conflicting, views on depression.

    The first is that depression is over-diagnosed and over-medicated, and people who are just a bit down or weak-willed or attention-seeking manage to get themselves called “depressed” to validate their feelings.

    But the second view, which is relevant to what sometimes seems like a minority of sufferers, is that it is an illness, a disease. It’s a chemical or hormonal imbalance in the brain, a real and valid problem which needs to be taken very seriously and treated appropriately.

    It doesn’t have anything to do with being “strong for too long”, or any other deliberate or conscious choice.

    • I agree that it is over diagnosed, and that is a whole other post! And I wonder if that is where the “being strong too long” feeling comes from…
      For me, it was a chemical or hormonal issue as the medication did help & worked 🙂

Leave a Reply

