Rediscovering a bath

Rediscovering bath time…

I don’t have a lot of time for me. There is a lot going on and, like most mothers, I don’t always put my own needs first.

A few weeks ago, I had the house to myself. For some strange reason, the bath beckoned.

For Christmas, I was given some really nice bath & body wash. I dug it out of the cupboard and squirted it in the bath while the hot water ran.

Pinching the CD player out of my kids bedroom, I put on a CD of MY music, something relaxing, and picked up the trashy novel I had borrowed from the library.

I spent a relaxing hour in the bath with my music and a romance novel… Bliss.

Since then, I have had a bath a few times, not all have been as long as that first one, but they are still relaxing. I haven’t bothered with candles or anything like that, mostly because the muted lighting makes it harder to read. For me, it’s the complete bliss of uninterrupted reading time, and reading something I don’t have to read.

A bath isn’t for everyone, and we don’t always have time or space for this much time for ourselves. The important thing is that we make time – no matter how busy we are… Having a bath is an occasional pampering time for me. What’s yours?

2 thoughts on “Rediscovering a bath

  1. Sounds like a treat! Mums need relaxation time every one in a while and a bath is a great way to unwind 🙂

Leave a Reply

