Menu Planning

Planning our menu…

I must admit that I’m not the most organised person in the World…  One thing that saves me a lot of time and effort is planning a weekly menu.

There are plenty of templates out there that you can download, however our method is a lot simpler.

We get a notepad or a piece of paper and simply write down five meals for the week. In addition, we write a shopping list at the same time.

Menu planning saves me a lot of time during the week. This way, I know what we are having and I know that we have enough ingredients to make the food.

I don’t put them down as Monday, Tuesday, etc. Just Meal 1, Meal 2, etc. This way if the afternoon doesn’t go according to plan, we can chop and change as we feel like it.

In addition to the meals on the menu, we make sure there is a supply of “back up” food, such as meat pies, fresh pasta & sauce, baked beans & tinned spaghetti, and sausages and frozen veggies. All of these are quick and easy and serve as weekend meals and meals when I’m tired or we get home really late.

Most recently, I’ve put my kids in charge of doing up the weekly menu! This may seem strange, but it’s something they really enjoy. This has a number of advantages. The first is that I don’t have to plan the menu, and the second is they put meals on the menu that they enjoy eating. They are surprisingly good at writing a varied menu, although there are a few meals that we tend to have every week!

Leave a Reply

