Supermum from the start…

Don't be a Supermum from the start

Don’t be a Supermum from the start

Newborn babies are gorgeous. Even if you’re not that interested in babies, there is something special about a newborn. I don’t know if it’s how cuddly they are or that special newborn smell, or even just the promise if what this tiny human holds, but everyone wants to visit for cuddles.

For most Mum’s, this is where the Supermum label begins, and for many, the label began much earlier while Mum was pregnant.

I don’t know if it’s a cultural thing, or if it’s an expectation we put on ourselves, but there are so many demands on mothers’ to do everything – even on minimal sleep – that sets us up for a hard time. Whatever it is, we put a lot of pressure on ourselves to be a Supermum.

We have a new addition to our family. I have a gorgeous new nephew. As I write this, he is a week old. In his honour, I thought I’d do a few posts about to ditch the Supermum cape right from the start. As with anything I post here, take the things that work for your family and leave the rest. Many of these tips are things that I wish I had done when my kids were newborn…

If you have a newborn in your family, I hope some of these tips will help you.

Leave a Reply

