Weight loss is NOT a competition

Weight loss is not a competition

Weight loss is not a competition

I have just come back from the gym – yes it’s just over 7am and for the last 3 and a half months I’ve been getting up at 6am 3-4 times a week to get to the gym by 6.30 for a half hour workout.

About 4 months ago, I decided I really needed to lose some weight. I couldn’t fit into some of my favourite clothes and I knew things had to change. The biggest issue was that I sit at a computer all day for work, then come home and sit at a computer to write. I needed to get active – so I joined a gym.

I am losing weight for ME – I don’t have a time goal, though I do have a goal for weight loss and I’m a quarter of the way there. I have 2 boys and 4 nephews to keep up with and I needed to get fitter and healthier. I’m not doing this for anyone else, just for ME.

Lately at the gym they are having a competition – you get points for the number of times you go to the gym and the amount of weight lost. They also give a prize each month for the person with the most weight lost that month. There are also shows like The Biggest Loser where people are losing weight for prizes. These really annoy me.

Weight loss is NOT is competition. If you are losing weight for a prize, will it be sustainable in the long term? For me, it won’t.

The best incentive for me is that I’m now fitting into some of my clothes again, and I’m looking and feeling much better than I was. Mr N has been teasing me about not being so cuddly any more… but I can live with that.

Leave a Reply

